The Stone Roses release new music!

Before last night at 8PM, it had been over twenty years since the legendary quartet, hailing from Manchester known as The Stone Roses released new music. First debuted on Radio 1 with host Annie Mac, the single ‘One For All’ swept the earth and within minutes, millions of people had heard the track. It was a very exciting occasion, as new music had been promised since 2012, and I have to admit I was actually doubting that new music would actually come about, but it did and it was very pleasing to hear!

 

Every since the Stone Roses burst onto the scene during the mid 80’s up until when they reformed in 2012, there has been a chemistry that I feel just can’t be replicated with any other band, or group in general.  There’s always been a magic that you the listener can literally feel when listening to their music, be it live or studio version, and this chemistry and magic is very much present in the single that they released. The combination of Renis’ drums, Mani’s bass, and John Squire’s guitar licks all come together so perfectly with Ian Brown’s indistinguishable voice layered over the top. It just works. It doesn’t just work, it works as well as it ever did.

 

The opening riff from John Squire had me hooked instantly, the Roses were actually back. As Ian Brown’s voice came into the mix with the rest of the band you knew it was real and what a surreal thing it was. The track overall was great in my opinion, however the lyrical content I felt, was lacking significantly. I felt as if the lines ‘All for one, one for all’ were repeated all too frequently which added a bland flavor to the the rest of the song. Don’t get me wrong, Ian Brown sounds great on the track, however the lyrics in my opinion were lack-luster which did have an effect on the track.

 

The Stone Roses could have replicated the exact same sound as their debut, self-titled album released in 1989, but they didn’t and this pleases me greatly. All For One to me seemed like a taste of the new Stone Roses that we are yet to hear on the new album. A new modern identity for the Roses? I surely hope so, they most definitely still have the ability to do so, as they demonstrated that in the new single.

 

Overall, All For One demonstrated that the chemistry and magic that used to be demonstrated by the Stone Roses is still very much there and the song left me feeling as if that chemistry would never die. The musicianship is absolutely top level, with John Squire’s capturing intro guitar lick and solo being the most memorable element of the song. The rest of the band tied together very well also, however as I mentioned, the lyrical content was lacking which left a stale element being present in the song. Despite this,  I feel like ‘All For One’ is an incredible song on the whole which I indeed loved. I cannot wait to hear this new track, as well as others (maybe) in Ireland later this year. The Stone Roses are indeed back!

Leave a comment